The 2023 AGM was held at Museum Café (Previously known as Café 8) on 8th June.  The meeting was well attended and it was a great opportunity to catch up with some old faces, and get to know some new ones! 

One of the main purposes of the meeting was to elect the General Committee for 2023/24.  Thank you to Colin Whittington for stepping up as Chair for this year, and Aldo Kriel who will serve as Vice-chair.  Nigel Raymont will continue as treasurer and Frank Riehm, who has come to the end of his 5 year term as Membership Secretary, will become our new Secretary.  Freeman Lee will take over from Frank as Membership Secretary.  Catherine Leonard and Mike Capper will be joining the general committee.  They both bring a wealth of experience from many years in the Hong Kong running community.

I would like to say thank you to David Woo, who has done an excellent job as Secretary for the last 4 years.  We are also saying goodbye to Derek Irwin, who will be leaving Hong Kong after many, many years.  Derek has served on the AVOHK committee, co-directed The Malcolm Phillips 5K, and will be a familiar face to all those who have run in AVOHK races over the years.  We wish him all the best on his new adventure!

It was lovely to have our previous Athletes of the Year, John Fowler and Evelyn Lim, present the trophies to this year’s winners.  Aldo Kriel and Glory Yau, two of our track speedsters, were the deserving recipients.